Chili beef with fragrant Thai rice and sesame

On the weekend I was having a hankering for some Asian inspired food. This was in part bought about by a friends post from Thailand. I must admit I have been missing it since my wedding in Lampang is 2013. This dish is not really very authentic but I wanted to get the balance of Asian flavors without having to go out to the shops to get anything.

The Recipe and the method are very simple.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I started but cutting some beef into strips. You can use steak but I cut up a cheap roasting joint for the purpose. I used about 70g which is a recommended serving per person. (my wife was out at the time).

I then put the strips of beef in a bowl and added;

  • 1tbsp or dark Soy sauce
  • 2 tsp or sesame oil
  • 1tsp honey
  • A few drops of fish sauce
  • A pinch of Chili flakes

I then covered the bowl with cling film and left to marinade for a few minutes.

I used this time to work on a simple side salad I thinly chopped some mild radishes and some cucumber you can use a knife or a peeler if you prefer it very fine. it’s that simple.

  • I also cut up 3 gloves are garlic ready for cooking.

In a pan add a drizzle of sesame oil then add the chopped garlic. Before the garlic has browned add the beef and the reaming marinade and cook on a high heat for a few minutes or until the beef is to you liking add a sprinkle of toasted sesame seeds to garnish.

Plate up and serve with a portion of freshly cooked Thai Jasmine rice. ( I will cover how to cook rice in another post).

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

