Luxurious French Toast

4K6A0423

Most days for breakfast I’m happy enough with my bowl of corn flakes but sometimes I just want a little bit more. This recipe probably suits a holiday or weekend more than the busy rush of a work day.

I’m not going to lie this is not healthy but it is so good.

What you will need

  • 3 or 4 slices of thick bread
  • 3 Eggs
  • Icing sugar for dusting
  • Fruit of you choice
  • Maple Syrup
  • Double or whipping cream
4K6A0390
Ingredients

Start by slicing your bread if it is not already sliced I prefer to cut my own so I can get the thickness I like.

I then like to take the double cream in a large bowl and whip it with an electric whisk I prefer to get this out of the way at the beginning. Whip until light and fluffy then set aside in the fridge to cool. Of course you could use a can of cream if you prefer.

4K6A0402
Cream

Now I like to go onto the compote. This is very easy. I like to use frozen fruit as its cheap and I always have a bag to hand in the freezer. Put the fruit into a non stick pan with a small drizzle of water and a dusting of sugar.

4K6A0405
Compote

Put on the heat and simmer for a few minutes till the fruit is soft and the juice has started to concentrate and thicken. This is not just great on french toast but works with a whole range of foods from pancakes to ice cream.

4K6A0408
Compote

Now the toast.

beat your eggs in a bowl then pour them into a lipped plate take your bread and dip it in the egg mixture and then turn the bread and dip it again.

4K6A0410
Dip the bread in the egg

Take and pan and put it on a medium heat add a knob of butter to the pan. Now place the bread in the pan and cook on one side until golden then turn the bread over and cook the other side until golden. Once done place on a sheet of kitchen paper to remove any excess butter.

4K6A0416
Frying the toast

 

Take your bread and plate it up, add the compote, cream and maple syrup and then dust with icing sugar.

4K6A0440

If you enjoyed this post please feel free to share and like. If you have any ideas or feedback you would like to share please do.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

