Currywurst!!

4K6A1000

In 2012 I was lucky enough to go on the Leonardo da Vinci programme a work exchange in Europe. It gave me the chance to learn some German and go to Berlin for a few months to work.

It was an amazing experience letting me live in another country and learning about other cultures and food.

So what food do I find myself missing? Firstly Currywurst. So what is Currywurts?

It is a German street food served mostly from kiosks and open from the morning to the early hours. It is cheap it is tasty and it a Berlin original!

So get to the point what is it? It is a Bratwurst a German sausage covered in a curry ketchup.

I know  it does not sound like much but you have to  taste it.

4K6A1009

 

So the sauce.

  • 1/4 cup ( I was told by the lady in the kiosk it should be Heinz to be  authentic)
  • 1/2 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tsp mild curry powder
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tbsp water

Take you ingredients and combine them in a small pan you want to just cook it lightly until it starts to bubble then turn off the heat and give it a good stir.

Now cook your Bratwurst  you can either fry it or grill it. I prefer grill them. Once they have cooked for about 8-10 minutes.

Slice your Bratwurst then dust with curry powder and drizzle over the sauce.

4K6A0996

You can enjoy this as a snack by itself you can also serve it with fries .

It is funny how it is the small things that you end up missing.  But for me this dish is a very real part of my European experience and every time I eat it I will be taken back to the city where I met my wife.

If you have enjoyed this recipe please remember to like share and subscribe.

p.s  Ich liebe Deutschland !!

 

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things.

https://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

 

our-growing-edge-badge

 

 

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Yum! I’d eat that. I like how it’s cut up for easy eating. Do they ever serve currywurst in bread like a German hot dog?

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is TRAVEL which includes any recipe or food experience inspired by travel.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They sometimes serve it with bread (mit Brötchen) but that normally comes separately. I have made it like a hot dog in the past and it is really good so worth a try.

    Like

  3. Hi! Great post about currywurst (and what a cute picture with the sausage in the paper box)! I’m from Germany and I got a blog about Japan & Germany. I wrote about currywurst myself some time ago. If you like to check it out: https://currywurstandkimono.wordpress.com/2015/10/03/currywurst-the-german-queen-among-sausages-%E2%98%86-currywurst-die-deutsche-koenigin-unter-den-wuersten/
    Greetings from Berlin,
    Maddy 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank Maddy. Your post was very interesting. I also love Berlin and miss it very much.

      Like

  4. This looks delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

